Legends of Nagaon

Last Updated on: April 02, 2022

Mahapurusha Srimanta Sankardeva:

Mahapurusha Srimanta Sankardeva was a saint-scholar, playwright, social-religious reformer, and a colossal figure in the cultural and religious history of Assam. He was physically very able, and according to legend, he could swim across the Brahmaputra while it was in spate. He traveled all over Bharatvarsha. He created a classical dance form as well as classical school music.



Madhav Kandoli:

A poet of the pre-Sankarite era, Kaviraja Madhav Kandoli was notable for his earliest rendering of the Valmiki-Ramayana into Assamese ( Saptakanda Ramayana ) His patron was the Kachari King Mahamanikya (1330-1370 ), whose kingdom was located in present-day Nagaon.



Jnanadabhiram Barua

Jnanadabiram Barua, the noted writer, dramatist, and translator was born at Fouzadaripatty. He Translated Laximinath Bezbaruah’s “ Burhi aair xadhu” into English




Lokapriya Gopinath Bordoloi

Raha-born Gopinath Bordoloi was the first Premier and Chief Minister of Assam. He was conferred Bharat Ratna posthumously.



Dr. Surya Kumar Bhuyan

Eminent Historian Surya Kumar Bhuyan was the first Assamese to be Principal of the Cotton College, Guwahati. He was honored with the title Rai Bahadur by the ruling British Government in 1933. He was president of Asom Sahitya Sabha and also served as the Vice-Chancellor of the Gauhati University.



Atmaram Sharma:

Born at Kaliabor in 1785 A.D., he was the person to translate the Bible into Assamese.



Swahid Bhogesari Phukanani:

Renowned as the “60-years-old martyr,” Bhogeswari Phukanani was an active participant in the freedom struggle and inspired both her daughters and all six sons to do the same. The Berhampur Congress Office was under siege by the British military, which revolutionaries, of which Phukanani was a part of, had taken control of. The British sent Captain Finish to take back the office, while Phukanani and her granddaughter Ratnamala were at the forefront of the mob leading the revolutionaries. Ratnamala was struck down and the Indian flag was snatched from her hands, which led Phukanani to hit Captain Finish, who shot at her head, thus killing her.


Purna Chandra Sarma:

He was an eminent freedom fighter and editor of the Ganatantra, a newspaper published from Nagaon.



Mahendranath Dekaphukan (1903–1974) or Monai Boiragi in full Mahendra Nath Moi Heng Dang Deka Phukan was an artist, poet, journalist and craftsman of Assam. He was the elder son of Lakshminath Phukan of Guwahati. After schooling at Cotton Collegiate High School, he took admission at Cotton College. He left from home in mid of study and wandered many places. He was assistant editor of Rangoon Mail, published by Rangoon. He came to attach The London Art Co. when he was in Myanmar and made some experimental films, but he couldn't store them for the future. After that, he joined Assam Bengal Press of Kolkata as manager. He was never staying many days in one place. After a few years of working, he came to Assam and married a Christian woman Miss Claris, he named her Jyotirmoi Devi. His attire was like a general village folk of Assam. He was some strange kind of personality, had a few intimate friends. On the other hand, like Madhav Chandra Bezbaruah, Bishnu Rabha, Industrialist Aalamohan Das, Dr. Sujya Kumar Bhuyan, former chief minister Bimala Prasad Chaliha, etc., some were very intimate to him. One of his existing creations is the symbol of Cotton College, Guwahati, but most of his works couldn't be stored.



Motiram Borah:

Freedom Fighter Motiram Bora was the founder president of Governing Body of Nowgong College. A dynamic leader, he was elected to the Assam assembly from the Nowgong South East constituency in 1946 and contributed a lot to the manifold development of Nagaon.



Dr. Birinchi Kumar Barua:

Novelist and folklorist Birinchi Kumar barua was born at Puranigudam. He wrote the novel “Seuji Patar Kahini” under the pseudonym Rasna Barua. Cultural History of Assam, Jivanar Baatat, etc. is some of his work.



Omeo Kr. Das

On 15 May 1998 Government of India honoured freedom fighter Omeo Kumar Das by issuing a commemorative stamp. A social worker, Gandhian, educationist, writer and a former Minister of the Government of Assam, He was honored with Padma Bhushan in 1963. People called him Loka nayak.



Saud Bholanath Barooah:

One of the pioneer businessmen from Assam in whose name B. Barooah College was established at  Guwahati in 1943A.D. He Donated to the Banaras Hindu University and Calcutta University.



Rudra Barua:

Rudra Barua composed the evergreen Assamese Song ‘Poka dhonor maje maje….’. He was born at Bhimor Gaon near Puranigudam. One of the foremost music pioneers of Assam he was an actor, composer, lyricist, singer, and musician. People called him Luit Konwar.



Devakanta Barua:

He was the first Assamese president of the Indian National Congress and was the Governor of Bihar for two years. His collection of Assamese poems, Sagar Dekhisa, is still very popular.



Ratna Kanta Borkakoti:

Ratna Kanta Borkakoti was elected President of the Asom Sahitya Sabha, Nazira Session. Born at Dhing in 1897 A.D. he was a renowned poet and writer. Sewali. Tarpan, Candrahar are some of his famous works. He was known as Sewali Kavi.



Nabakanta Baruah:

Eminent novelist and poet Nabakanta Baruah popularly known as Ekhud Kokaideu was admitted to Nagaon Government Boys High School in the third Standard from where he completed his matriculation in 1941. He received the Sahiya Akademi Award in 1975 for his novel “Kakadeutar Haar”.  



Haladhar Bhuyan

Born at Tetelisara, Haladhar Bhuyan was a renowned freedom fighter and the brain behind the foundation of Sanka Mission Eye Hospital of Nagaon. He was also one of the founders of Sankar Sangha. People fondly called him Lokashevak.




Mohi Chandra Bora:

A renowned Satrisist Mohi Chandra Bora is famous for his novel Caknaiya.



Mahesh Chandra Dev Goswami:

Born at Balistra, Nagaon, renowned academician Mahes Chandra Dev Goswami alias Kumar Madhusudhan was the editor of the newspaper Bihlangani. He was the founder Principal of Nowgong Girl’s College.



Sukdev Goswami:

Sukdev Goswami was the founder Principal of Anandaram Dhekial Phookan College. Educated in England, he hailed from Raidongia.



Sarada Kanta Bordoloi

Sardakanta Bordoloi was a noted dramatist and actor. Some of his works are Magrivar Ajan, Upohar, Sei Batedi.



Chandra Phukan:

Chandra Phukan was an eminent theatre actor and director.



Md. Nurul Amin

First Assames president of the All India Football Federation (AIFF)



Mohim Borah:

Mahim Bora was Conferred the Padma Shri in 2011. He retired as the Head of the Assamese Department from Nogong College. He was elected as president of the Doomdoma session of Asom Sahitya Sabha held in 1989. Asom Sahitya Sabha Conferred him with the title, ‘Sahityacharya’.



Pranab Baruah:

Artist Pranab Baruah paved a new path in the contemporary art movement in Assam with a unique style of his own. He dedicated his whole life to art education. He was the recipient of the Bishnu Rabha Award in 2000.



Atul Chandra Hazarika:

Sahityaacharya Atul Chandra Hazarika was born at Uriagaon, Nagaon. He was the recipient of the Padmashree and Sahita Academy Awards. He presided over the Nagaon session of Asom Sahitya Sabha held in 1959.



Dr. Bhabendra Nath Saikia

Bhabendra Nath Saikia had the unique distinction of having won National Awards for each of his seven Assamese films. A novelist, Short story writer, Cinematographer, and film director, he won many literary awards, including Sahitya Academy in the year 1976. He was conferred with the Padma Shri Award in 2001.



Khagen Mahanta:

Khagen Mahanta was born in Amtrala Gajala Satra near Jajari Borguri in Nagaon district. He was honored with the Sangeet Natak Academy award for folk and traditional music in 1992. He is known as the Bihu Samrat of Assam.